Study Guides

Krishnamacharya Sequence Study Guides

Tirumalai Krishnamacharya (November 18, 1888 – February 28, 1989was an Indian yoga teacher, ayurvedic healer and scholar. Often referred to as “The Father of Modern Yoga,” Krishnamacharya is widely regarded as one of the most influential yoga teachers of the 20th century and is credited with the revival of hatha yoga.

Krishnamacharya held degrees in all the six Vedic darśanas, or Indian philosophies. While under the patronage of the Maharaja of Mysore, Krishna Raja Wadiyar IV, Krishnamacharya traveled around India giving lectures and demonstrations to promote yoga, including such feats as stopping his heartbeat.[7] He is widely considered as the architect of vinyasa,[6] in the sense of combining breathing with movement. Underlying all of Krishnamacharya’s teachings was the principle “Teach what is appropriate for an individual.”[8] While he is revered in other parts of the world as a yogi, in India Krishnamacharya is mainly known as a healer who drew from both ayurvedic and yogic traditions to restore health and well-being to those he treated.[6] He authored four books on yoga—Yoga Makaranda (1934),Yogaasangalu (c. 1941),[9] Yoga Rahasya, and Yogavalli (Chapter 1 – 1988)—as well as several essays and poetic compositions.[10]

Some of Krishnamacharya’s students include many of yoga’s most renowned teachers: his son T. K. V. Desikachar (born 1938), Indra Devi (1899–2002), K. Pattabhi Jois (1915–2009), his brother-in-law B. K. S. Iyengar (1918-2014), and A. G. Mohan (born 1945).


Seated Sequence

Meditative Sequence

One Leg Sequence

Supine Sequence

Triangle Sequence

Inverted sequence

Lotus Sequence

Bow Pose Sequence

Tadasana Sequence

Asymmetric Sequence